I forgot my Username/Password
Print Article Press Releases
{ These winners were invited to submit applications for the Byron “Whizzer” White Award -- the highest honor the NFLPA can bestow on a player. }
Author: NFLPA Communications Posted: 12/20/2012

For Immediate Release
December 20, 2012


​The NFL Players Association annually recognizes players who go above and beyond to perform community service in their team cities and hometowns.

The Byron “Whizzer” White Award is the highest honor the NFLPA can bestow on a player. The award was established by the professional football players of America to acknowledge a debt of gratitude to one of their own, Supreme Court Justice Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White—scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant. The NFLPA presents this prestigious annual award to the player that is just as dedicated off the field as he is on the field.

During annual NFLPA locker room meetings, players selected teammates to receive NFLPA PULSE Awards for their outstanding work in the community. These winners were invited to submit applications for the Byron “Whizzer” White Award and received monetary donations for their foundations or a charity of their choice.

A panel of peers will select five finalists from the pool of PULSE winners. All finalists will receive additional charity donations and one will be named the 2013 Byron “Whizzer” White Award winner and receive an additional $100,000 for his charity. The 2013 Byron “Whizzer” White judging panel includes – Mike Florio (Pro Football Talk), Jim Trotter (Sports Illustrated), Richard Trumka (President, AFL-CIO) and Brian Waters (Pro Player Insiders). The winner will be announced at the NFLPA’s State of the Union press conference at the Super Bowl media center in New Orleans.

Congratulations to all of the 2013 NFLPA PULSE Award winners:

Arizona Cardinals
Sam Acho
Larry Fitzgerald

Atlanta Falcons
Justin Blalock
Kevin Cone
Corey Peters

Baltimore Ravens
Ray Lewis
Lardarius Webb

Buffalo Bills
Erike Pears
George Wilson

Carolina Panthers
Thomas Davis
Steve Smith

Chicago Bears
Robbie Gould
Israel Idonije
Charles Tillman

Cincinnati Bengals
Michael Johnson
Vincent Rey

Cleveland Browns
Joe Thomas
Ben Watson
Usama Young

Dallas Cowboys
Marcus Spears
Jason Witten

Denver Broncos
Willis McGahee
Wesley Woodyard

Detroit Lions
Nate Burleson
Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers
Greg Jennings
James Jones

Houston Texans
Owen Daniels
Wade Smith

Indianapolis Colts
Antoine Bethea
Pat McAfee
Cory Redding

Jacksonville Jaguars
Greg Jones
Mercedes Lewis

Kansas City Chiefs
Dustin Colquitt
Ryan Lilja
Andy Studebaker

Miami Dolphins
Davone Bess
Reggie Bush
Brandon Fields
Sean Smith

Minnesota Vikings
Jared Allen
Chad Greenway

New England Patriots
Jerod Mayo
Zoltan Mesko

New Orleans Saints
Drew Brees
Jabari Greer
Malcolm Jenkins

New York Giants
Chris Canty
Steve Weatherford

New York Jets
D'Brickashaw Ferguson
Brandon Moore

Oakland Raiders
Aaron Curry
Marcel Reece

Philadelphia Eagles
Nnamdi Asomugha
Michael Vick

Pittsburgh Steelers
Charlie Batch
Ryan Clark

San Diego Chargers
Quentin Jammer
Shaun Phillips

San Francisco 49ers
Vernon Davis
Alex Smith

Seattle Seahawks
Marshawn Lynch
Russell Okung

St. Louis Rams
Steven Jackson
James Laurinaitis

Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Adam Hayward
Davin Joseph

Tennessee Titans
Rob Bironas
Matt Hasselbeck

Washington Redskins
Lorenzo Alexander
London Fletcher

For more information on the award and the winners: https://www.nflplayers.com/Fantasy-Promotions/NFLPA-PULSE-Awards/

Contact: Jilane.Rodgers@nflplayers.com


Related Articles
Newsletter Subscription

Subscribe to the NFLPlayers.com Fan Newsletter